Post Reply 
O.o Editing system_plugin_fg.rco ...
Author Message
ZiNgA BuRgA
Smart Alternative

Posts: 17,011.1222
Threads: 1,174
Joined: 19th Jan 2007
Reputation: -1.71391
E-Pigs: 444.9132
Offline
Post: #1
O.o Editing system_plugin_fg.rco ...
[Image: 92463886yh0.png]

Might confuse a few people.

Unfortunately, I don't know how to convert to the PSP's "icon format"... :(  But I was basically playing around with the system_plugin_fg.rco file, and found that it contained a few icons, basically:
  • Battery icon
  • Mute icon & shadow
  • Lock icon & shadow
  • Cross icon & shadow
  • Circle icon & shadow
  • Triangle icon & shadow
  • Busy indicator animation & background
  • Two more icons, which I don't know what they are

Meh, I was wondering what that file did, and I'm disappointed - that file doesn't do much :(
07/02/2007 12:43 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
michaelp
s0ny d0minator

Posts: 1,009.4190
Threads: 100
Joined: 19th Jan 2007
Reputation: -1.92737
E-Pigs: 12.5158
Offline
Post: #2
RE: O.o Editing system_plugin_fg.rco ...
lol
maybe you should try editig the icon's

[Image: michaelp3.png]
07/02/2007 05:24 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA
Smart Alternative

Posts: 17,011.1222
Threads: 1,174
Joined: 19th Jan 2007
Reputation: -1.71391
E-Pigs: 444.9132
Offline
Post: #3
RE: O.o Editing system_plugin_fg.rco ...
Dang this sucks.  It's encrypted...  I can't believe I'm so stupid - I didn't know that the system_plugin_fg.rco is basically the same as the topmenu_plugin.rco - people were using the FW2.5 version of the RCO, which is how they "decrypted" it.

Basically, I would need a FW2.50 system_plugin_fg.rco to replace the icons Erk  (now I'll have to wait till I go back to the library...)

Hmm, interestingly though, most of the Localised Resources (RCOs) have a similar structure.
(This post was last modified: 08/02/2007 07:19 PM by ZiNgA BuRgA.)
08/02/2007 07:15 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA
Smart Alternative

Posts: 17,011.1222
Threads: 1,174
Joined: 19th Jan 2007
Reputation: -1.71391
E-Pigs: 444.9132
Offline
Post: #4
RE: O.o Editing system_plugin_fg.rco ...
Ooh, I made an editor for anyone who's interested:
http://endlessparadigm.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=167

Still can't actually stick your own icons in, but that's mainly an issue with BMP «> DAT converting.
09/02/2007 05:39 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Anorhc
Neophitic Presence

Posts: 7.7120
Threads: 2
Joined: 28th Jan 2007
Reputation: 0
E-Pigs: 1.1090
Offline
Post: #5
RE: O.o Editing system_plugin_fg.rco ...
I would just be happy to be able to use the XMB icons on my computer... if that's possible.
10/02/2007 01:53 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA
Smart Alternative

Posts: 17,011.1222
Threads: 1,174
Joined: 19th Jan 2007
Reputation: -1.71391
E-Pigs: 444.9132
Offline
Post: #6
RE: O.o Editing system_plugin_fg.rco ...
Anorhc Wrote:I would just be happy to be able to use the XMB icons on my computer... if that's possible.
It is! :)
Just extract the DATs from the RCO, then convert to BMP :D


Anyways, I think I've managed to "decode" the MIG format - now all that's left is to figure out how compression is done...
It's actually interesting - cause now I can extract the contents of the system_plugin_fg.rco - the battery indicator is just 4 48x16 pictures stuck into one large 48x64 one.  Oh and I never knew there were so many frames in the busy indicator (the little animated circle in the bottom-right hand corner of the screen) - there's like 10+ different images for that!
10/02/2007 02:11 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
michaelp
s0ny d0minator

Posts: 1,009.4190
Threads: 100
Joined: 19th Jan 2007
Reputation: -1.92737
E-Pigs: 12.5158
Offline
Post: #7
RE: O.o Editing system_plugin_fg.rco ...
wow
this lead to the rco icon editor... i think

[Image: michaelp3.png]
25/02/2007 06:24 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA
Smart Alternative

Posts: 17,011.1222
Threads: 1,174
Joined: 19th Jan 2007
Reputation: -1.71391
E-Pigs: 444.9132
Offline
Post: #8
RE: O.o Editing system_plugin_fg.rco ...
Yeah, it did indeed.  Actually, I started working with a 3.03 RCO - lol, only found out much later that it was encrypted.  All I can do to it is remove the icon, or swap it.

Actually, the above two is possible with the 3.10 topmenu - I might blank the normal icons for 3.10, so you get a "shadow look" :)
26/02/2007 02:33 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
enixidfrag
Paradigmatic Apprentice

Posts: 25.3636
Threads: 0
Joined: 16th Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
E-Pigs: 0.5000
Offline
Post: #9
RE: O.o Editing system_plugin_fg.rco ...
sweet didnt see this before nice to know how it all began (and the reason i know have Ys theme :D)

but wait you can swap the icon in the 3.03 rco how? via hex or something or is that how your app works it just goess to the set HEX locations?
28/02/2007 09:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
u_c_taker
hacks=drama

Posts: 3,185.2011
Threads: 102
Joined: 29th Jan 2007
Reputation: -1.03084
E-Pigs: 36.7855
Offline
Post: #10
RE: O.o Editing system_plugin_fg.rco ...
wow

28/02/2007 12:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

 Quick Theme: