michaelp
s0ny d0minator
Posts: 1,009.4190 Threads: 100
Joined: 19th Jan 2007
Reputation: -1.92737
E-Pigs: 12.5158
|
program not running on 1 comp
http://www.sfml-dev.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=586
So, I've started to program in the D language, and I found a SFML binding for the language, called DSFML. But, there's a problem. The compiled executables won't run on the computer that I develop on. They run on the computer that I'm on ATM. In the thread of above, I posted a debug log of 2 programs. What happens is that a window quickly opens, and closes right away, and what should happen is either pong or some test program should come up. But, the programs that didn't involve opening Windows worked okay, so it might have something to do with that.
In the log, the person who worked on the D binding for SFML said msvcr71.dll didn't load, so I'm pretty sure it's the computer.
Anyone have any idea why it won't work on that computer?
Both are on Windows XP, and I tried installing SP3 since some files might have been the problem, but no.
Help!
|
|
22/08/2008 02:52 PM |
|
nig1231
Able One
Posts: 68.1701 Threads: 5
Joined: 18th Aug 2007
Reputation: 1.40616
E-Pigs: 2.1712
|
RE: program not running on 1 comp
I wonder if there is a pink bird
HI
|
|
22/08/2008 03:06 PM |
|
michaelp
s0ny d0minator
Posts: 1,009.4190 Threads: 100
Joined: 19th Jan 2007
Reputation: -1.92737
E-Pigs: 12.5158
|
RE: program not running on 1 comp
Huh?
Are you being serious or not, I can't tell on the internet. =|
|
|
22/08/2008 04:27 PM |
|
ZiNgA BuRgA
Smart Alternative
Posts: 17,022.2988 Threads: 1,174
Joined: 19th Jan 2007
Reputation: -1.71391
E-Pigs: 446.1274
|
RE: program not running on 1 comp
Sounds like whoever compiled that program didn't do it right (did they do a release compile?).
To fix, try getting the DLL and stick it into System32.
(This post was last modified: 22/08/2008 05:57 PM by ZiNgA BuRgA.)
|
|
22/08/2008 05:57 PM |
|
michaelp
s0ny d0minator
Posts: 1,009.4190 Threads: 100
Joined: 19th Jan 2007
Reputation: -1.92737
E-Pigs: 12.5158
|
RE: program not running on 1 comp
I compiled it from the samples, so the code should be fine.
It works fine on the computer I'm using now. :\
And I'm pretty sure the dll is there, I did a search for it and it was in the System32 folder.
I didn't do any special flags, I guess I could try adding -release to the release flags. (Or did you mean the compile shouldn't be a release compile?)
|
|
22/08/2008 06:02 PM |
|
ZiNgA BuRgA
Smart Alternative
Posts: 17,022.2988 Threads: 1,174
Joined: 19th Jan 2007
Reputation: -1.71391
E-Pigs: 446.1274
|
RE: program not running on 1 comp
You're probably compiling it in debug mode. Change it to release mode instead.
In VS2005, it looks like this.
I'm not sure if that's your issue, by try it anyway.
(This post was last modified: 22/08/2008 08:32 PM by ZiNgA BuRgA.)
|
|
22/08/2008 08:30 PM |
|
nig1231
Able One
Posts: 68.1701 Threads: 5
Joined: 18th Aug 2007
Reputation: 1.40616
E-Pigs: 2.1712
|
RE: program not running on 1 comp
I say you follow my advice
HI
|
|
22/08/2008 09:33 PM |
|
michaelp
s0ny d0minator
Posts: 1,009.4190 Threads: 100
Joined: 19th Jan 2007
Reputation: -1.92737
E-Pigs: 12.5158
|
RE: program not running on 1 comp
I'm compiling using the command line, not using an IDE, so I know I'm not compiling in debug mode.
And I just tried it on another computer, and it didn't work either.
2 of the executables that don't work can be found here:
http://rapidshare.com/files/139392651/sfmltest.rar.html
Inside are 2 test programs I compiled.
|
|
23/08/2008 06:39 AM |
|