Post Reply 
psp uae
Author Message
andrewcc
OMG they killed Kenny!
Worlds End

Posts: 2,493.2479
Threads: 305
Joined: 5th Sep 2007
Reputation: 1.43435
E-Pigs: 49.4291
Offline
Post: #1
psp uae
okay, I'm not asking anyone where to get the kickstart image, I've got that. all i want is help. i can't get this thing to work. all i get is a black screen after the uae slogan comes up. pleease help me with this issue. it is really pissing me off

[Image: spideysigcopycopycopy.png?t=1308548347]

[Image: ccandrew.png]



Object Link

Click here to view embedded webpage

Please note that by activating this feature, there may be undesirable consequences


Page: http://bandcamp.com/EmbeddedPlayer/v=2/track=2423211127/size=venti/bgcol=FFFFFF/linkcol=4285BB/
28/03/2008 04:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
squee666
Grand Warlock

Posts: 3,565.3210
Threads: 351
Joined: 4th May 2007
Reputation: 12.17831
E-Pigs: 555.8715
Offline
Post: #2
RE: psp uae
maybe you havnt set the kernal version right in the recovery menu

[Image: IuZelj2.png]
Spoiler for anime watched:
[Image: squee666.jpg]
28/03/2008 04:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
S7*
Sweet Dreams

Posts: 16,682.8360
Threads: 1,056
Joined: 3rd Apr 2007
Reputation: 14.29926
E-Pigs: 383.2289
Offline
Post: #3
RE: psp uae
uae?
28/03/2008 04:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
mime
♫ Benetnasch Eta ♫

Posts: 369.2170
Threads: 30
Joined: 5th Apr 2007
Reputation: -4.91319
E-Pigs: 5.2262
Offline
Post: #4
RE: psp uae
In order for us to help you, you need to help us understand what your problem is.  UAE? is it the coldboot? im clueless what that is but my best guess is.  Semi brick?

Tell us a bit more what you did and what happened.

[Image: goldsaints2.png]
28/03/2008 08:18 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
SchmilK
Noob

Posts: 4,695.1280
Threads: 358
Joined: 16th Apr 2007
Reputation: 0.38918
E-Pigs: 81.8122
Offline
Post: #5
RE: psp uae
Hmmm

I disabled UAC in vista and its real nice now..no more 'Are you sure you want to run this' or needing to run apps as administrator

Hmmm

limneosgreen Wrote:Take my advice, don't try to install custom themes ... it's possible to brick ur psp.. why just don't change wallpaper
28/03/2008 11:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
bboy_sonik
Byeeeeeeeeee

Posts: 132.3019
Threads: 8
Joined: 9th Aug 2007
Reputation: 0.76198
E-Pigs: 2.8344
Offline
Post: #6
RE: psp uae
He's talking about the PSP port of the most popular Amiga emulator, "Ubiquitous Amiga Emulator" which was originally known as "Unusable Amiga Emulator" before it became stable and the source code was released.

So can you actually get into the emulator or not? I don't think its the kernel version set incorrectly because usually you will drop back to the XMB with a 'The game could not be started' error right after the gameboot video plays, but i dunno maybe this is a special case that I have not witnessed - but i think it is safe to rule that out if you are running 3.52 M33 or newer.

All i suggest is to read through the readme of PSPUAE and make sure you got it right. It's actually a very good readme compared to other PSP homebrews, very clear and descriptive.



OK ill say a bit more... This is really all you need to do to get it to work.

1. Extract PSPUAE to ms0:/PSP/GAME150/PSPUAE/
        The GAME150 folder is good as it always runs in 1.50 kernel regardless of CFW settings.
         Make sure you have the latest 1.50 kernel addon from DAX if the CFW requires it!

2. Copy the Workbench 1.3 ROM to ms0:/PSP/GAME150/PSPUAE/ROMS/ and name it "KICK13.ROM"
         Please confirm this - it might be the folder 'ROMS' or 'ROM' i can't remember - but it's all in the readme!

3. Copy your ADF disk images to the folder ms0:/PSP/GAME150/PSPUAE/DISKS/ such as Amiga games, Workbench disks or any other disk images in the ADF format.
         As i said before, this folder might be "DISKS" or "DISK" i can't remember so please check the readme - it might even be "IMAGES" i can't remember sorry!


Start PSPUAE. Technically you can still run it even if you have NO ADF images at ALL - but u can't do a lot! All you will get is the Workbench 1.3 'Insert-Disk' image [the hand holding the blue disk on a white background] - until you insert a disk by mounting it in the emulator menu [hit START at any time in emulation to do this]. PSPUAE is also compatible with ROM dumps of Workbench 2.04 [Best 2.X version] and 3.1 - but 1.X will be faster in many cases. So only use 2.x/3.x ROM if your game needs it - but if a game needs newer than 1.3, chances are its a newer Amiga game that would run like garbage on the emulator.


On another note, the PSP port of UAE is still pretty slow in most games. SOME are playable - IF you can stand the frameskip. Also, leave the CPU on 68000 for the best speed. And the lower the RAM settings the better - if your ADF game doesn't need more than 512K of ChipMem then don't set it to anything higher cause it will be SLOWER!

Hope i helped. Check out the PSPUAE homepage at http://pspuae.condor.serverpro3.com/ for more material, and Google will always be your friend. Peace.


EDIT - I just did a little snooping and found that many users have had problems on various Amiga games Vs. different editions of KS ROM's. 1.3 is apparently faster and the most stable for many people and I agree. Never use 1.0 [if you can even find it] as it is buggy - the 1.3 KS ROM was the final Amiga 500 kickstart and the Amiga 500 is the most popular Amiga known around the world and 80% or more of Amiga games were made for the 500 and 2000 [nearly all Amiga 2000's shipped with 2.X]. Sorry for the mega post :P
29/03/2008 01:15 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
xBu
Cookie?

Posts: 4,997.4909
Threads: 55
Joined: 15th Apr 2007
Reputation: 3.44876
E-Pigs: 44.0477
Offline
Post: #7
RE: psp uae
29/03/2008 01:46 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
bboy_sonik
Byeeeeeeeeee

Posts: 132.3019
Threads: 8
Joined: 9th Aug 2007
Reputation: 0.76198
E-Pigs: 2.8344
Offline
Post: #8
RE: psp uae
Sorry for the bump.... but i assume your problem was resolved? Feel free to PM me if you need anymore help with PSPUAE. *Unsubscribed*
06/07/2008 04:49 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

 Quick Theme: