Post Reply 
Icon images
Author Message
Commander
Existential Entity

Posts: 13.1905
Threads: 2
Joined: 23rd May 2011
Reputation: 0
E-Pigs: 1.4564
Offline
Post: #1
Icon images
So I've been trying to make my own ctf reading this guide:

http://endlessparadigm.com/forum/showthr...p?tid=236.

But, it says that I'm restricted to the sizes the icons already are =/.

I've seen a bunch of ctfs with larger icon sizes than what the default PSP theme has, so my question is how do I get past that size restriction, please and thank you?
(This post was last modified: 23/05/2011 03:15 PM by Commander.)
23/05/2011 03:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
junKie
Deh Eternal Stud

Posts: 397.4920
Threads: 48
Joined: 10th Jan 2011
Reputation: 1.72586
E-Pigs: 25.8715
Offline
Post: #2
RE: Icon images
You aren't restricted to the size.

Did RCOEditor give you that message/error or does the tutorial say it?

I was eXx1l3d from Techmantis.net for my ways.
Emo. (//.-)
23/05/2011 03:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Commander
Existential Entity

Posts: 13.1905
Threads: 2
Joined: 23rd May 2011
Reputation: 0
E-Pigs: 1.4564
Offline
Post: #3
RE: Icon images
(23/05/2011 03:21 PM)junKie Wrote:  You aren't restricted to the size.

Did RCOEditor give you that message/error or does the tutorial say it?

Here is a direct quote from the guide

"Now you will see a list of all the icons that you can edit...
When you found the one that you like to edit click extract and save it in the folder you want.
Now open the file in a image edit program (eg. the gimp, photoshop) and change it to the icon you want, make sure you keep the dimensions and the color depth the same."

I also tried adding an image that was larger than the icon just to make sure, and it wouldn't show up.
(This post was last modified: 23/05/2011 03:25 PM by Commander.)
23/05/2011 03:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA
Smart Alternative

Posts: 17,046.2970
Threads: 1,174
Joined: 19th Jan 2007
Reputation: -1.71391
E-Pigs: 444.8272
Offline
Post: #4
RE: Icon images
The guide is really old (2007).

Do make sure the icon isn't too large or else it'll exhaust all available resources.
23/05/2011 03:31 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Commander
Existential Entity

Posts: 13.1905
Threads: 2
Joined: 23rd May 2011
Reputation: 0
E-Pigs: 1.4564
Offline
Post: #5
RE: Icon images
(23/05/2011 03:31 PM)ZiNgA BuRgA Wrote:  The guide is really old (2007).

Do make sure the icon isn't too large or else it'll exhaust all available resources.


It's old yes, but there aren't very many good guides on this.

Also, the icon I'm using is 217x272.
(This post was last modified: 23/05/2011 03:35 PM by Commander.)
23/05/2011 03:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
junKie
Deh Eternal Stud

Posts: 397.4920
Threads: 48
Joined: 10th Jan 2011
Reputation: 1.72586
E-Pigs: 25.8715
Offline
Post: #6
RE: Icon images
(23/05/2011 03:31 PM)ZiNgA BuRgA Wrote:  The guide is really old (2007).

Do make sure the icon isn't too large or else it'll exhaust all available resources.

Yup, because it is possible.

[Image: c12.jpg]

I was eXx1l3d from Techmantis.net for my ways.
Emo. (//.-)
23/05/2011 03:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Commander
Existential Entity

Posts: 13.1905
Threads: 2
Joined: 23rd May 2011
Reputation: 0
E-Pigs: 1.4564
Offline
Post: #7
RE: Icon images
So, I've decided to tweak an already existing ctf and when I change the images with images that have the same dimensions, only the first one appears while the rest disappear?

Ctf's here if you're interested » http://www.megaupload.com/?d=XIGUPV6N

EDIT: Here's mine, I changed 4 of the icons with images of the same dimensions and only one appears.

http://www.2shared.com/file/uRWZ91jF/test_2.html
(This post was last modified: 23/05/2011 03:48 PM by Commander.)
23/05/2011 03:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
junKie
Deh Eternal Stud

Posts: 397.4920
Threads: 48
Joined: 10th Jan 2011
Reputation: 1.72586
E-Pigs: 25.8715
Offline
Post: #8
RE: Icon images
Try smaller dimensions.

I was eXx1l3d from Techmantis.net for my ways.
Emo. (//.-)
23/05/2011 03:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Commander
Existential Entity

Posts: 13.1905
Threads: 2
Joined: 23rd May 2011
Reputation: 0
E-Pigs: 1.4564
Offline
Post: #9
RE: Icon images
(23/05/2011 03:47 PM)junKie Wrote:  Try smaller dimensions.

Could you look at the 2 files I uploaded and see where I went wrong?

All I changed was a few images in the topmenu_icon.rco and now only 1 of the images I added works.
23/05/2011 03:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Dmise
Paradigmatic Entity

Posts: 190.2825
Threads: 16
Joined: 9th Jan 2009
Reputation: 0.38709
E-Pigs: 28.2633
Offline
Post: #10
RE: Icon images
Make sure the option to always generate 32bit gim's in rcoedit options isn't enabled. It should be on automatically detect what gim it needs. This should help with resources.

217x272 is pretty big I wouldn't use that big of an icon if you're using all the 8 icons. Also try using 32bit bmp's in case you aren't already, some people try to use png's but I've noticed these take up more resources.

[Image: mpower.png]
23/05/2011 04:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

 Quick Theme: